7 Replies Latest reply: Jan 7, 2020 4:08 PM by margaret RSS

Cancellation due to guest not signing rental agreement

kenr74 New Member

I had an instant booking from a guest.  I sent them the rental agreement via the messaging system but have not received a response.  I'm about to resend via email and call them about it.

I'm just thinking ahead but my question is are my metrics affected if they do not respond or will not sign the agreement and I then cancel the reservation?  I'm just getting started so I don't want to screw things up but I also don't want somebody in my place without signing an agreement.

• Re: Cancellation due to guest not signing rental agreement
          wildiris Active Contributor

You're right to not want someone staying at your rental who will not sign your rental agreement.  I think that calling and speaking with the guest is very important.  Hopefully, the guest just isn't paying attention to his emails (or doesn't see any urgency) and when you call him he will sign and return the rental agreement to you promptly.

Whether or not Vrbo penalizes you for cancelling this guest in the event that he continues to refuse to sign your rental agreement depends on how you have this in your listing.  Do you include the requirement that guests sign your rental agreement as part of the "house rules" on your listing?  My understanding is that if signing your rental agreement is one of your "house rules" then Vrbo will not penalize you.  If it is not one of your house rules than you may be penalized.

One of my "house rules" on my listing is that all guests must sign and return my rental agreement to me within 48 hours of making the booking.

kenr74 New Member

Thank you.  I received an immediate response to the email I sent this morning so they may have just missed the message I sent earlier.

I do have the rental agreement as part of my house rules(72 hours) so it sounds like maybe I'm covered.