4 Replies Latest reply: Sep 6, 2019 9:01 AM by mauimarcia RSS

Refunds after check-in: where is the answer?

mauimarcia Contributor

The thread called  On what grounds would a guest receive a refund after check-in? is now marked as having been answered.  I followed the thread and did not see any definitive answer from VRBO to this extremely important question.

So I am going to ask it again.  On what grounds would a guest receive a refund after check-in?  If the question really was clearly and specifically answered by a VRBO representative, then can you please point out where?  Thank you.

• Re: Refunds after check-in: where is the answer?
          ha-moderator-annalisa HomeAway Employee

Hello mauimarcia, the post was marked as answered as there is no specific answer to the question. The community members have answered it with different scenarios that are all valid.

As an agent I have seen different reasons why a property owner has given a refund after check-in:

1. The Traveler has an emergency and has to leave the property, and the Property Owner wanted to give them a refund.

2. Natural Disasters: the traveler was not able to complete their stay, or even stay at all the property. The property owner did not have a chance to refund pre-stay as they were also evacuating but felt that the right thing was to give a refund or partial refund.

3. Property owner double-booked, and didn't know they double booked until check-in.

4. Property owner didn't realize they had a reservation, and the traveler was not able to stay at the property.

5. The oven broke, and it took a day to fix it, and the property owner wanted to give a refund for the inconvenience.

There are so many different scenarios of when a refund is done after check-in.

mauimarcia Contributor

ha-moderator-annalisa wrote:

different reasons why a property owner has given a refund after check-in: