15 Replies Latest reply: Jul 6, 2019 3:35 PM by emilyzh RSS

What should I do with this kind of guest?

emilyzh New Member

Hi everyone, I just want to tell my story which bothered me for a while. I'm an owner and I've been renting my vacation house on HA for almost 2 years and all the reviews I got either about my house or me are all positive, this situation never happened before.

Yesterday we had a guest and her family to check in. I was there to wait for them and gave them a tour of the house right after they arrived. From the front garden to the back garden, and then inside the house including kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms. The guest(the mother of this family) was satisfied during the whole tour and said the house was lovely, beautiful. So I left after the check in. Now the story began:

I got a message from her(the mother) after about 1 hour which said she was very unhappy about a lot of thing of the property and required me to rectify them when they are out. So I drove about 30 minutes back to the house, I didn't have to do this, but I respect the guests first and I really wanted to see what's going on. Here below are her complaints, and behind them are what I said when I introduced the house to them and what I explained after I arrived  the house:

1. She said our garden was a mess because the grass at the corner of the garden is not at the same height with other grass. She didn't expect to see it.---We mowed the garden 2 days ago, and a few grass with some flowers at the corner look nice for the garden.

2. There's half bag of potatoes in the kitchen which she didn't expect to see that.---When I introduced the kitchen, I told her the potatoes are left from the last guests who just checked out yesterday, if  she likes, it's free to use. If she doesn't like it, she can put it away or dump it. She said ok.