5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 3, 2019 11:12 AM by hmmmm RSS

Looking for info on Rental Agreements

brenkert08 New Member

I am new to this; we rent our 2 bedroom small condo on occasion. I see a lot of people require a signed rental agreement. Do people have generic RAs that I could use? Otherwise, where have you found them? I am also beginning to require a government-issued ID; we were burned recently: 4 night rental left our home trashed and then did a chargeback. Very disconcerting.

TIA for any tips/suggestions for this newbie!

• Re: Looking for info on Rental Agreements
          harrytammie Contributor

I made a template agreement that I use for all guests whether booked here or thru somewhere else. When booked thru here I don't fill in all dollar breakdown. I just reference financials on vrbo. I send it via a doc u sign account. Its easy for guests to fill out and we both get an encrypted copy.

I started asking for a cc and ID regardless where booked, but I'm getting some resistance from some travelers and theres a whole lot of discussion about it on the facebook Airbnb guest blacklist page.

Choice is yours.

h

feibus CommunityAmbassador

Lots of discussions of rental agreements on the site already...

Rental Agreements

Top 8 things you should include in your rental agreement

I was told I should have a Renters Agreement. Can someone please tell me how to go about getting this in place? Thanks

Short answer: get a real estate atty in the location where your home is located and get them to provide you a template to mark up and make your own.  Then get them to proof the results.

There are also a number of discussions about how to head off chargebacks and the steps you need to take to make it happen.  An RA is one step, but there are others.  Search box is upper-right on the page.  Lots of great info out here.

margaret CommunityAmbassador