24 Replies Latest reply: Jul 16, 2018 11:08 AM by kcrosley RSS

I'm livid! Please talk me off the ledge. Undisclosed dogs (!) in my home

ladysoc Contributor

I've been renting my home for at least ten years. Prior to the start of this year's season, we installed a "Ring" camera that looks onto the dock and lake. It has a motion detector and I watched a few of my current guests' activities that set it off. In the video, I saw a dog! I watched a few more and then saw another video with two dogs! I am not pet-friendly (though I love dogs).

I'm so mad that the guest did not disclose this to me that my hands are shaking. They are due to check-out tomorrow morning. I have a clause in my rental agreement that they agreed to when they booked through vacationrentals.com that reads:

PETS AND SMOKING: Pets/service animals and smoking are not allowed in the Home or on the

grounds at any time. If a pet or evidence of smoking is found, the Guest agrees to vacate the home

immediately, without refund, with forfeiture of security deposit, and agrees to a penalty of $500.00.

I think I will hold their security deposit but I am just so mad. Does anyone else feel my pain, lol?

• Re: I'm livid! Please talk me off the ledge. Undisclosed dogs (!) in my home
          feibus CommunityAmbassador

If you have on-site management, this is a good time for them to pay the guests a visit.

And don't get us all started on people who insist on bringing their stupid dog "Fluffy" who marks everywhere and who the guest calls a "support animal" that's really just the guest being too cheap and entitled to pay for a pet sitter....

ohst8er Senior Contributor

That RING doorbell should be on your main entrance.  is It on the back of your house?

ashevillelookout Senior Contributor

I would definitely want to hold their security deposit. 

How do you like the ring camera that you installed for viewing your back yard? I assume that you divulged this camera's existence in your RA?