31 Replies Latest reply: Nov 26, 2018 7:21 AM by u0999 RSS

How do you decorate for Christmas?

mribar Contributor

Hi!  This is my first year as a host and I have a guest coming in Dec 23rd.  We are close to the beach and they wanted to have a family vacation for the holidays. 

I did setup a few things for Christmas but I'm kind of wondering if I did enough.  For example, I have a very small 4' tree but nothing big or fancy.  I have a few beach theme Santa and decor items but again, our home decor is more on the beachy side and I'm realizing that I didn't really go "all in" as far as Xmas decor goes. This guest leaves on the 30th and a new one comes in on the 1st so I also wanted to be able to change over quickly. 

Got me thinking....what do others do?  Would you be disappointed to arrive to a house by the beach and find there's not a lot of Xmas decor or a large tree?

I can't say I have ever rented a home or condo during Christmas but I also don't think I would expect everything to be all decked out either. 

Thanks!

Michelle

• Re: How do you decorate for Christmas?
          feibus CommunityAmbassador

I have one guest every other year ask whether we do decorations for Christmas.  I don't and explain that we just don't have room in the home for anything that would only get used a few days a year, there's just not enough storage space.  So I tell guests to feel free to decorate, but please remove any decorations they buy for the holiday when they leave.

That said, by providing decorations, you make some assumptions: (1) that your guests view Christmas the way you do; (2) that your guests want you to decide what decorations to put up instead of leaving it to the guests to decide for themselves.  Some guests will like it, some will accept it, some will be annoyed by it... but you won't know which is which unless you communicate with your guests about that.

thaxterlane Premier Contributor