1 2 3 Previous Next 115 Replies Latest reply: Jul 3, 2014 11:46 AM by wimbushmansion RSS

Linen Advice

I'd like to be able to advertise that my home is furnished with luxury linens, but the tropics (and frequent use) have been  ******* my 600 thread-count sheets. I even tried bamboo sheets, but guests complained they were too warm. Does anyone have a recommendation for a sturdy linen that could still be described as luxurious?

Many thanks...

• 1. Linen Advice

Hi lagloria!

Truthfully, I'm not an expert on linens and have had a hard time myself finding nice sheets that are soft, long-lasting, less wrinkled out of the dryer and fit well.  And know nothing about tropic conditions.

Possibly you could try contacting or visit a luxury hotel in your area and find out what they use for linens.  They may be cooperative in giving you some information on thread count, brands, washing methods, etc.

Keep me posted - I would find this information very useful! 

• 2. Linen Advice

Would be interested in a good answer to this one.  We have tried luxury sheets but they look as if someone slept in them already and they don't last.  I will buy nothing at this point but no-iron percale blend sheets.

• 3. Linen Advice
              amyg Active Contributor

Whoever comes up with a luxury sheet set that stays silky soft after repeated washings, is durable and doesn't wrinkle will be a millionaire over and over.  We've tried all sorts of brands but typically the 100% cotton (also Egyptian and Pima) seem to have wrinkling issues.  I've learned that just because you go up in thread count doesn't mean the sheets are good, too!  We've had 600 TC sheets that were thin and pilled within 3 washings and 275 TC sheets from Kohls (aka The Big One) that are durable and far better weight--they just don't have the silky soft feel.  If anyone finds a good alternative, please share!

• 4. Linen Advice