8 Replies Latest reply: Jul 28, 2012 6:22 AM by crescentbeach4u RSS

Electronic or Digital Signatures for Vacation Rental Contracts

rentallect Contributor

I recently wrote about Electronic or Digital Signatures for Vacation Rental Contracts

As a career engineer, I'm very passionate about leveraging technology to save myself time and effort.  The approach (and third-party tool) I discuss in my blog post is an example of how to do that within the context of gathering of contractual agreements between myself and my guests.

I am about to put the technique I describe in my blog into practice for my own vacation rental, and I am wondering what you all think about the notion of electronic signatures vs. the classic alternative(s).

Curt Tudor

CEO & Founder

Rentallect Vacation Rental Software

• Electronic or Digital Signatures for Vacation Rental Contracts
          rentallect Contributor

As a follow-up to my above post...

I did move forward with RightSignature (the eSignature platform I described in my blog). 

Yesterday, I sent out my first lease agreement through this tool.  Time elapsed from when I pressed "send" to transmit the rental agreement to when I had a signed legal agreement was about two hours.  Nice, clean, quick, secure.

I followed up with the guest to get their feedback on the electronic document procedure, and my guest (Amy C) said:

The online agreement was great.  No problems and would recommmend to others.

I do too :-)

Curt Tudor

CEO & Founder

Rentallect Vacation Rental Software

I am new to the vacation rental arena -- our lake home listing is "pending" right now.

As I set up the infrastructure for transactions, the notion of electronic signatures is one my hubby and I discussed.  I'm going to explore the source you shared, Curt.

The concept is very appealing to me.  While fraud is a concern, I don't think a handwritten signature is any more legitimate (unless it is notarized).  Of course, crooks will forge a notary, too.