llevison The dollar is charged when a listing is set for auto-renewal. It is just a test that is to make sure the card is still active and valid. It should then go back on the card, and the subscription is charged to the card. If that was not refunded back to you, we will need to have the Billing Team investigate this. Please call Customer Support and they should transfer your case to Billing for investigation.
I fail to understand which difference it makes if a $1.00 charge bounces back or a $500 charge.
I think you are on to something and it fits the behavior of HA in so many other areas, make a buck on the back of the owner wherever they possibly can.
The problem is that they do not think that someone would "miss" that dollar.
It is really very frustrating to work with this platform.