24 Replies Latest reply: Sep 11, 2018 11:38 AM by u0999 RSS

Please help- I am literally pulling my hair out trying to find a sample RENTAL AGREEMENT I can follow.  Every link for HA agreement goes nowhere.

lane New Member

I am not a lawyer and starting from scratch to create a boilerplate short term rental contract is super frustrating. I would like to be able to add my specifics to an existing contract.  I see a lot of discussion about contracts and agreements but no actual contracts anywhere. Every time I search for it, the link just leads right back to the home page for Community.

I have my first guest arriving tomorrow.  I see on the 'payable to you' section of the information from VRBO: "Your rental agreement was accepted". WHAT RENTAL AGREEMENT? I cannot find the information about this. Also, I was not aware VRBO does not verify government ID's with guests and now I'm about to have a guest whom I know NOTHING about. I didn't realize this platform was going to be so confusing and difficult to navigate. Can anyone talk me down off the ledge?

• Re: Please help- I am literally pulling my hair out trying to find a sample RENTAL AGREEMENT I can follow.  Every link for HA agreement goes nowhere.
          homeaway_community_manager HomeAway Employee

Hi lane,

The sample rental agreement that used to be published here has been removed from the site and is no longer available to the public.  If you search on Google for "short term vacation rental agreement" a whole page of options appears.

As for your question about what rental agreement?  When a traveler requests to book and/or  makes a payment, there's a check box they must check saying they agree to your rental agreement. If you don't have a rental agreement uploaded, then they are essentially agreeing to nothing.

Here's info on why you should have a rental agreement.

Here's info on what to include in a rental agreement.

Here's more info on how to upload a rental agreement once you complete/create one