5 Replies Latest reply: May 9, 2012 8:13 AM by thaxterlane RSS

On home page of website what do you think is most important??

I am in the process of redoing one of our websites.  It is clear that navigation is important as is being able to find contact information on each and every page.  On your home page, what do you think is more important.....

• Having one picture of the area to  have attractive page (ie picture of sunset over water, or one nice picture of a property)
      • Having multiple pics
      • Having a significant amount of text about what to do in the area
      • Having a significant amount of text about your properites

I know the home page needs to grab them so they will explore other pages. 

• Re: On home page of website what do you think is most important??
          amyg Active Contributor

Suzy, I'm not a web designer but I've learned a bit or two along the way with several site overhauls.  On your landing (home) page, search engines like keywords and metadata but humans get overwhelmed by lots of clutter.  I'm a fan of clean, simple navigation...a few excellent photos (larger is better)...and a call to action on every page of your site.  As a page visitor, I don't want to be bored to tears with blocks of copy that run on and on--sometimes below the fold.  Many people are looking at dozens of properties during the search process.  So find a happy medium with copy--keep it to-the-point and keyword rich.  Some carefully chosen superlatives are all you need to add some spice. 

I don't think I can narrow down my answer to any one of your choices because it takes several elements to create a good home page.  Just do everything very well (photos, text, navigation, call to action) and in moderation. 

Hi Suzy

I must Agree with the above advice from arnyg.