33 Replies Latest reply: Nov 12, 2012 1:31 PM by snowlow RSS

Used VRBO successfully for 10 years, NOW Not So Much!!

We have been renting our vacation home very successfully on VRBO only for 10 years but in the last year or year and a half our bookings have PLUMETTED while tourist visits, sales tax & lodging revenues have all increased in the area!! The VRBO site has changed in the last year or 2 & I'm wondering if anyone else has seen their rentals decline? I'm suspecting that it's the addition of "neighborhoods" as a search criteria. What do others think? We're about ready to give up on VRBO since it's been absorbed by Home Away and booking went from great to aweful.

• Used VRBO successfully for 10 years, NOW Not So Much!!
          method Contributor

I've been using both VRBO and homeaway for four years now and it's been steady as ever. Perhaps your right that it's the introduction of neighborhoods, but first; and not to be contentious. But what about the competition? I'm sure in 10 years the prices have changed, are you keeping up to date with the demand and what people are willing to pay?. Maybe you could use some new pictures or some new amenities. First thing i would do is check out the competition that are getting bookings and compare it objectively to yours; If you haven't already that is.

terirusso Contributor