1 5 6 7 8 9 Previous Next 133 Replies Latest reply: Nov 12, 2012 1:38 PM by snowlow Go to original post RSS
      • 90. Re: FIGHT BACK!  Competing with REALTORS on Homeaway & VRBO!

I agree with the above comments that VRBO - supposedly standing for vacationrentalsbyowner, has strayed from its mandate of byowner listings.

A website you might want to try, focused on by-owner listings is:

- Free to list your property

- Just 10% commission on bookings paid after booking is completed

• 91. Re: FIGHT BACK!  Competing with REALTORS on Homeaway & VRBO!

I am a professional property manager in Florida and we advertise on VRBO. It’s interesting to see the other side of the coin through these posts.    If you will allow me…I would like to share my point of view.  Some of you many not realize that you are our toughest competition these days…not the property-management-company-down-the-road. We feel the odds are heavily weighted in your favor for a traveler looking for a vacation rental on VRBO as they know, in most cases, they will get a better deal by working with a private owner. It probably won’t come as a surprise to you that many homeowners renting on VRBO, do so outside the law…some unknowingly, some intentionally.  Regardless, state and county fire code regulations are violated on several levels…they do not carry the proper licensing and, most egregiously, do not collect and file the appropriate state and county taxes…in our area…that’s 12.5%.  Quite an advantage for the traveler as well as the private homeowner, wouldn’t you agree? I have a client that rents on VRBO, she handles all the calls and rate negotiations and passes them through for us to handle the paperwork, taxes, check-in and troubleshooting while the guest is in-house.  And…let me tell you…she offers rates w-a-y below market and below rates we would ever consider offering out.  Yet another client utilizes us for bookings through our own means and rents on his own through  VRBO.  I am very impressed at