FAQ: Setting Rates

Q: I'm new to renting and have no idea how to decide what to charge. Where do I start?
    setting vacation rental rates A: The best place to start is on vacation rental listing sites like HomeAway.com, VRBO.com, and VacationRentals.com. Look at listings for properties similar to your vacation home and note how much the homeowners charge per night, per week, and per month and for which particular dates. Pay attention to what amenities the properties offer, as well as their proximity to tourist destinations. For example, if you own a two-bedroom vacation cabin in Big Sky, Montana, your rates should be similar to other two-bedroom cabin rentals in the area.

Q: How do I set my rates if I'm the only vacation home for rent in my market?
    A: If you're the first vacation rental in your market, you may have to do a bit of research to set the right pricing strategy. First, figure out where travelers vacationing in your immediate market currently stay. Hotels? Motels? Bed and breakfasts? Find out how much these establishments charge nightly and determine the high-end and low-end of the market. Where does your home fall into the mix? Then, research properties in markets within a 3-4 hour radius of your home that attract the same types of travelers as your vacation market. For example, if you own a three bedroom cabin on a small lake that's perfect for fishing and swimming, look at the pricing of three bedroom cabins on nearby lakes.

Q: What if my home isn't comparable to any of the other rentals in my area?