Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
1841 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Apr 14, 2012 5:50 PM by anja RSS
New Member 1 posts since
Apr 9, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 13, 2012 12:41 PM

What info should I be getting from a renter, and how do I verify it?

Hi, I'm new to this and am trying to get up to speed as quickly as possible. I listed my property and have begun to get inquiries and people wanting to sign agreements. How do I go about verifying a renters information? What's to stop someone from giving me false information and looting my rental? What information should I be requesting, and how do I verify it?

Thanks in advance,

Doug

• msdebj Senior Contributor 1,359 posts since
    May 25, 2011

Cobah, first thing you need is an detailed contract that is signed and dated. And, I know there are various opinions about this, but I also require a copy of the credit card AND driver's license ( other government issued photo ID). These are standard requirements when you rent a hotel room.

Those must be in my possession before I even charge their credit card. Period. No exceptions.

Require a Damage Deposit. This is NOT applied towards rent.

As for screening, I use facebook, google, etc. to search their email address, name and phone number, before I even reposnd to an inquiry. It's amazing what people post on Facebook.

Just a few of my tips, that have worked well for me over the years. I'm sure others have other ideas as well.

debj  

• anja Senior Contributor 1,560 posts since
      Aug 9, 2011

Hi cobah,

This has been a topic for discussion, and continues to be. If you use the "Search" bar at the top of this page, type in the word  "screening" and then try "interacting with guests" to find some previous posts that will give you ideas from what other Owners feel about it...and do.