Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
2975 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Aug 14, 2013 11:31 AM by mlbmaine RSS
codcape Contributor 70 posts since
Apr 3, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 3, 2012 9:13 AM

My nightmare returns or is trying to...

I want feedback from other owners, this is my story...

I've been renting my Cape Cod home for 5 yrs, so, I'm a fairly seasoned at renting.  I have to say, I've had 4 good/great years up until last year.  Last year I rented to this person who was incapable of following process, he sent deposits to the wrong locations, they were also late.  Then a storm was approaching during the week that he secured and he called me numerous times wanting a refund prior to the storm even hitting.  I pointed out while discussing/debating with him that my storm cancellation policy is clearly stated in the contract and that the storm was hitting on a Sun and he was arriving on a Sat.  He had the option to arrive after the storm or early and ride it out - I warned him that it would be uncomfortable should the power go out and left extra flashlights, batteries and a radio.  His argument was that the roads may close while he's in transit which is total BS, he was clearly looking to stay at my home at a reduced rate.  To top it all off when he left the place was a mess!...It too me 3+ hrs to clean it when the norm is 1.5.  I have other issues I could site but I think you get the picture.  I never said anything to him last year as I just wanted him out.  So, last week I receive an inquiry from this guy.  I'm wondering how to respond?  I want to be blunt and just say "I have no interest in further business with you given my unpleasant experience last year" and call it a day.  My wife thinks I should create an excuse but knowing this guy he will continue to hound me.  He is ve