Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
5770 Views 12 Replies Latest reply: Jul 29, 2013 4:13 PM by brlrcrmt RSS
New Member 2 posts since
Jul 31, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 31, 2011 3:04 PM

special insurance?

I am new to VRBO and was wondering if I need any special type of insurance on my rental property.  Wondering especially about liability.

Thanks.

• New Member 3 posts since
    Jul 31, 2011
    Jul 31, 2011 3:21 PM (in response to missmaggie)
    special insurance?

When you bought your home, did you buy a property insurance policy.  It should be covered by your insurance if so.

• ttaylor0 Active Contributor 425 posts since
    Apr 1, 2011
    Jul 31, 2011 7:32 PM (in response to missmaggie)
    special insurance?

It is very important that you call your insurance agent and ask about "short term" rentals. I was with State Farm and they told me that they do not cover a house if it is being used as a short term rental. I think you that you think everything is all right, but if a guest files a claim against you, you could be in trouble. Take the time to make one phone call and find out for sure.

• Contributor 145 posts since
    May 12, 2011
    Jul 31, 2011 9:31 PM (in response to missmaggie)
    special insurance?

ttayloer0 is right when Chub found out we were using our homes as a vacation rental than cancelled us. We had a real problem finding insurance finally went with LLoyds of London at triple the annual premium we were paying. One of our homes actually increased from $5600 to $19,000 which was shocking!

• New Member 3 posts since
    Jul 31, 2011
    Aug 1, 2011 10:50 AM (in response to missmaggie)
    Re: special insurance?