Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
3352 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Sep 17, 2011 4:00 PM by berkeley RSS
New Member 1 posts since
Aug 2, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 2, 2011 7:03 PM

Not sure if I should give address to potential renters

Hello.  I am so glad for these forums.  I am new to this business.  One of the major concerns that I have is providing address to renters without a confirmed reservation.  I am concerned that too many people having the address of a fully furnished empty home is a major invitation to thieves.  I currently have a vacation rental home in Tallahassee. I have been contacted by a number of renters that have requested my address so that friends that they have in the area can go by and look at the house. When I refuse I do not hear from them again.  I am very skeptical about beginning this practice.  I was wondering if anyone has had any such problems or am I just being paranoid.  I have heard of people using photos from legitimate websites and promoting themselves as the owners.  Help

• murdockvacationrentals Contributor 41 posts since
    Jan 28, 2011

We rarely get requests like this, but have on occasion. If you have detailed pictures and property information on the listing then people should not have to drive by and preview or walk-through the property. It is probably not wise to let strangers into the property so you may need to have a cleaner or on-site manager do a walk through...or install some kind of home security system that could be activated when the property is not being rented.

Munro Murdock

Murdock Vacation Rentals

Munro Murdock

Murdock Vacation Rentals

"A better way to stay"

Phone (801) 382-7730  Fax (801) 705-3777

PO Box 998, Pleasant Grove, UT, 84062

4bd Ko Olina, HI | 3bd Ko Olina, HI| 3bd Midway, UT