Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
14257 Views 40 Replies Latest reply: Aug 10, 2011 5:06 AM by ritzcard RSS
New Member 8 posts since
Feb 24, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 18, 2011 6:45 PM

Have you ever had 2 guest show up on the same week?

I had 2 guest show up on the same week.  The one guest was scheduled for June 11, and she showed up on July9th.  I always send a confirmation after I receive a deposit.  It states the date of arrival, date of departure. Arrival and departure times and amount due, and date due.  I have been renting for 20 years and never had this problem.  The June rental insisted that the July week was the one she booked, and for awhile, I didn't think she was going to leave.  I told my July guest to go and have dinner on me and I would take care of the situation.  Finally I convinced the June renter to leave. 

I have not heard anything yet, but am sure she will be asking for a refund.  What do you think about a refund?  I paid for a cleaning for that week, not knowing that there was noone there in June.  Any suggestions??

• marym Active Contributor 463 posts since
    Feb 10, 2011

OMG - every owner's nightmare!!  I can't tell you how many times I check, recheck, re-recheck all my e-mails, contract and calendar to make sure I am not the one who gets it wrong!  I'm curious though, when June didn't show up in June, didn't it come up somehow?  Return of keys, return of security deposit - didn't you or they know somehow that something went drastically wrong?  Surely when you showed June the contract/confirmation note she had to admit she'd goofed?   I think if you've got it in writing you should be okay....

• New Member 22 posts since
        Jun 21, 2011