Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
2602 Views 12 Replies Latest reply: Jan 4, 2013 11:59 AM by raz RSS
New Member 7 posts since
Nov 15, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 30, 2012 11:02 AM

Damage deposits?

I am a newbie owner. I have the damage fee of $69 included in the fees for renters to cover any major damage that may occur. Does anyone do this and also include a refundable deposit for the misc expenses that can occur? For example, I have in my rental agreement that if they do not checkout by 10:30 a fee of half the daily rent will be charged. Now I am unsure how I would charge this if they paid through reservationmanager. I do not have any access to their cc or anything. Also I am worried that a renter pays $69 upfront and then does not worry or care about the damages since they did not pay a larger refundable deposit. Any ideas will be very helpful.

• beth.fortune New Member 21 posts since
    Oct 2, 2012
    Dec 30, 2012 1:39 PM (in response to wpmountains)
    Re: Damage deposits?

Hello, it's Beth again, your fellow newbie owner. I, too, was concerned about whether guests would feel as responsible if it wasn't their own $$ on the line for extra expenses, so I decided NOT to offer the damage insurance. I offered it as an option on my first couple of quotes and then, after more reading here on the forums, decided to just go with a straight security deposit. Luckily no one took me up on those quotes ;-)

I'm no expert but I would guess that you cannot make a claim for extra rent for late checkouts through the insurance. Hopefully someone who knows more will chime in.

• sage Community All-Star 966 posts since
    Jul 4, 2012
    Dec 30, 2012 2:23 PM (in response to wpmountains)