Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
5371 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Jul 28, 2012 6:22 AM by crescentbeach4u RSS
rentallect Contributor 43 posts since
Mar 1, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 28, 2011 7:38 PM

Electronic or Digital Signatures for Vacation Rental Contracts

I recently wrote about Electronic or Digital Signatures for Vacation Rental Contracts

As a career engineer, I'm very passionate about leveraging technology to save myself time and effort.  The approach (and third-party tool) I discuss in my blog post is an example of how to do that within the context of gathering of contractual agreements between myself and my guests.

I am about to put the technique I describe in my blog into practice for my own vacation rental, and I am wondering what you all think about the notion of electronic signatures vs. the classic alternative(s).

Curt Tudor

CEO & Founder

Rentallect Vacation Rental Software

• I am new to the vacation rental arena -- our lake home listing is "pending" right now.

As I set up the infrastructure for transactions, the notion of electronic signatures is one my hubby and I discussed.  I'm going to explore the source you shared, Curt.

The concept is very appealing to me.  While fraud is a concern, I don't think a handwritten signature is any more legitimate (unless it is notarized).  Of course, crooks will forge a notary, too.

I'm curious about others' experience.

Thanks, Curt!

• New Member 1 posts since
    May 17, 2011