Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
10336 Views 21 Replies Latest reply: Apr 8, 2013 10:20 PM by mandyb10 RSS
New Member 3 posts since
Nov 9, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 9, 2011 2:15 PM

NEW PROPERTY MANAGER NEED ADVICE

I am a new property manager that is in a unique situation. The owner of the property lives in another state and only visits maybe 3 times a year for a week or two. He recently decided that he wanted to off set some costs and turn this very special place into a vacation home. It is a log home that has been converted into a duplex. Very private. I live in the loft of the home as a tenant but now also as an on-site property manager. I set us up on VRBO and am seeking other avenues for marketing as well. I do all the bookings/sales, shopping, housekeeping, and make all the calls to contractors ie home repairs and maintenance etc. I am doing all the work as he is a busy man who if had time or in the past,  someone up for the challenge, would have done this a long time ago.

My question is: is there anyone else in my position? We are in the process of writing a legal contract  between he and I and I am wondering what a fair percentage would be to split the revenue? Or better yet, if you are a property owner, what would be a percentage that would be worth it for you to sit back and let someone else handle the day in and day out of the business?

THANK YOU!

• stjvilla Active Contributor 624 posts since
    May 27, 2011
    Nov 9, 2011 5:09 PM (in response to pleasantvalleylodging)
    Re: NEW PROPERTY MANAGER NEED ADVICE