Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
1519 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Aug 18, 2012 1:33 PM by mlbmaine RSS
Contributor 30 posts since
Jul 24, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 17, 2012 8:56 PM

Renting to travelling professional companies...

I have a property that I hope to rent out monthly. I know people have said to not accept payment from third parties, but what about renting to a travelling professional company? Many medical professions use these companies to travel to work and the company often arranges the housing. What should I be aware of? Who should be stated in the contract, the company or the individual? Any insight to this would be great as I am new to this. In fact I just listed my property and am nervously awaiting my first inquiry/booking!

• sage Community All-Star 972 posts since
    Jul 4, 2012
    Aug 18, 2012 1:03 AM (in response to marina2012)
    Re: Renting to travelling professional companies...

The warnings against accepting payments from third parties generally have to do with the classic scam in which the payment is for more than the amount of the rental and the traveller says the excess is for his other travel expenses, and you should refund the excess amount to him.  If there is any hint of such a situation, one should run away and not look back.