Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
7047 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Jul 27, 2011 9:47 AM by theresa.light RSS
New Member 5 posts since
Mar 18, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 18, 2011 10:40 AM

Rental Discounts for multiple weeks

Hi, this is my first year of renting our beach home.  I seem to have trouble figuring out how much to rent for.  Actually, my question is if you rent for 2 or 3 weeks in a row do you usually give a discount? I know to charge the security deposit and rental charge, but does everyone charge a cleaning fee?  Also I have some interested in 3 months this fall.  I would think that would be a different charge. Do you ask all up front or monthly?  And again, the cleaning?  I have no experience in this. I am winging it.

Appreciate any help I can get....

Toni

• Contributor 67 posts since
    Mar 2, 2011
    Mar 18, 2011 10:52 AM (in response to newbie)
    Re: Rental Discounts for multiple weeks

Toni,

Great questions. I asked myself these same questions at first also. What I did

was look at the other rentals in my immediate area, what they were charging, are

they weekly or not, etc. I then looked at what I could get weekly vs what I

could charge monthly. I tried the monthly at first, it seemed safer and easier

but eventually moved into the short term weekend and weekly rentals. For me the

weekly or long weekends brought in more rentals and ultimately a higher income,

but this is specific to my vacation spot. Most go for there for the weekends.

When I added up the monthly with my average nightly rate it didnt make sense to

do it monthly. I always charge cleaning on each rental (weekly or less) but

monthly I actually required the renter to clean it, pay for utilities, etc. I

charged a one time exit cleaning at the end of their rental period. I offered