Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
5180 Views 22 Replies Latest reply: May 31, 2013 12:48 PM by lazym RSS
New Member 5 posts since
Aug 3, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 3, 2012 3:15 PM

Cannot contact potential guest to return contract

Well, as I am relatively new to the rental world, I realize I may have overlooked a 'red flag'.  My potential renter asked the question about whan the last day was to cancel w/o losing their deposit.  Should have seen that coming.

This person wants to rent for the Labor Day weekend. She put down a $250 deposit which I told her was non-refundable if she cancelled 2 weeks or less before Labor Day.  I sent her a contract 2 weeks ago, never heard back.  Emailed her 1 week ago inquiring about the status of the contract - never heard back. Called her today and had to leave a VM and sent her an email telling her I need some sort of communication!  I also told her that I need to hear from her within 48 hours. Question - I know I should have made different arrangements on the payment and refund policy but can I cancel the contract after the 48 hours is up as long as I send her deposit back? For lack of communication? Lack of sending the contract back? I did not specifically say when it had to be returned when I originally sent it to her (never had anyone NOT send it back right away).

I also have a clause in my contract that says "If it becomes necessary for the owner to cancel reservation prior to stay, all rental and deposit monies received to date will be returned to guest" but I'm not sure if this is enforcable.

Thanks in advance! 

• sophie Senior Contributor 969 posts since
    Mar 4, 2011
    Aug 3, 2012 4:41 PM (in response to paint)
    Re: Cannot contact potential guest to return contract