Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
3038 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Jul 29, 2012 12:10 PM by sophie RSS
New Member 1 posts since
Jul 28, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 28, 2012 12:43 PM

Owner is asking for cash payment on arrival - should I be suspicious?

I'm new to vacation rentals and am looking to book a place on HomeAway. I've been in contact with the owner via email. He would like the security deposit paid via PayPal (which is fine) but wants the rest of the payment in cash on arrival. Everything I've read warns against paying with cash. There are no reviews posted for http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p935523 and the availability calendar is suspiciously blank. The owner has been a member since 2011. I've offered to pay the balance through PayPal or credit card but the owner will only accept cash payment.

Is this normal practice in the rental world? Am I just being paranoid? Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I'm planning to call the owner in the next couple of days. Any thoughts on what questions to ask? Thanks again.

• swiss-house Contributor 260 posts since
    Jul 6, 2011

I assume that there is also no contract?

My guess is that this is because vacation rentals are now illegal in Manhattan <http://www.tnooz.com/2010/07/24/news/ny-governor-signs-into-law-measure-opposed-by-vacation-rental-owners/>

The owner is probably trying to stay under the radar / off the books.  There's no way to know if he/she is at least reporting the income on their taxes or not as well.

It affects not just this owner of couse, but all vacation rentals in Manhattan (and some of the other boroughs too). You have the powerful hotel owners lobby to thank for this restriction on your freedom to do business.

• susaninrehoboth Active Contributor 875 posts since