Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
2166 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jul 25, 2012 4:44 AM by susaninrehoboth RSS
New Member 1 posts since
Jul 24, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 24, 2012 4:35 PM

I Double booked for the first time! What should I do?

This is my first time using the forum. I just realized this morning that I double booked in the month of March 2013. One guest is supposed to be staying from 3/6-3/11 and the other guest is supposed to be staying from 3/1-3/15. I feel horrible, and I don't want to make either of them too upset. What is the best way to handle the situation?  Should I offer them anything for the inconvience?

Please Help!

• sophie Senior Contributor 964 posts since
    Mar 4, 2011
    Jul 24, 2012 5:22 PM (in response to corey)
    Re: I Double booked for the first time! What should I do?

corey,

You are actually very very lucky! I just had my first double booking and I didn't catch it until a few hours BEFORE CHECKIN!!! It was pretty much a nightmare!

I would personally take the 15 night booking and cancel the other.  You will need to contact the people from the 6th, apologize and refund ALL their money. At this point, I would think their damages are are slim since you are almost 9 months out. I would not offer them anything  since they have ample time to secure something else.  A kind gesture might be to search some other available properties with their criteria and send them the links. They cannot leave you a review because they never stayed at your property.

This advice would be totally different if you were closer to the check in date because at that point, it might be more difficult to find other accomodations.

Good luck!

• sodamo Contributor 260 posts since
    Nov 5, 2011
    Jul 24, 2012 8:50 PM (in response to corey)