Feb 27, 2012 2:43 PM
Craigslist scam - check on there to see if your apartment is on CL
-
Like (0)
Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.
Customize your experience by selecting your role:
Owner, Property Manager, or Traveler
Hi, I was doing a backlink report for my website when I noticed that I had a CL backlink. I don't remember posting one so when I checked it I saw my apartment listed on there with someone else's email (Kensjob00@gmail.com). I googled the email and saw that there were other apartments under his name. So then I googled the title of the apartment and I saw that they were all homeaway apartments. I honestly do not have the energy to call all the homeaway owners to tell them that their apartments are under siege by a scammer. So, I'm hoping that they come here on the community boards and check this message to see that their apartment is part of this scam. I saw apartments from St. Augustine, FL a few from NY, ect. Below are the titles of the apartments from this person's name.
1br - 300ft² - WINTER STUDIO COTTAGE
Come to Our Charming Condo on Beautiful St. Augustine Beach
Stylish Alcove Studio in Great East Village Locale
Comfortable 2 bedroom apartment in Midtown East
UNWIND AND ENJOY THIS BEACH FRONT OASIS
St. Augustine Oceanfront Home Casa Vedra
Spacious and Sunny 2BR steps from time square
Two Bedroom Luxury Essex House Suite 1101
I cannot believe the nerve. I called the scammer about my apartment and she gave me a paypal address to send the payment to, What I can't understand is why is she using a paypal account if I can dispute her charge and later on get my money back once I realize that there is no apartment?
Hi mj.jacroix,
If you don't feel upto contacting all the other owners, how about sending a scam report to CL at http://sfbay.craigslist.org/cgi-bin/emailForm.cgi
Good deeds attract blessings commensurate to what you put out. Rest be assured of your reward when you contribute to the betterment of society and help tip the balance on the forces of duality to the side of good.
We just found our cottage advertised on Craigslist. Thank goodness a former renter alerted us!
Folks, we will never be free of scammers. We have to be vigilant and watch our own Craigslist.
The "rental agent" was listed as sXXXXXXXg1980@yahoo.com When we placed this address in yahoo it showed hundreds of advertisements all over the States.
Would you mind explaining how to check for a backlink on your website? I would like to do this as well.
Thank you
I just went to our local Craigslist and checked out vacation rentals for our town which is in California. I plugged in our town so I wouldn't have to wade though all the other towns in the area.
There among the ads was an ad of mine copied (cut and pasted) straight from VRBO with my complete ad and photos. The only thing that was changed was how to contact me through VRBO. This scammer's yahoo address is at the bottom. All I can hope is that people are wary of Craigslist vacation rentals. I have no idea if any one has shown up at our vacation rental expecting to get in.
Fake CL ads should be reported at http://sfbay.craigslist.org/cgi-bin/emailForm.cgi so the fake ad will be shot down, and any ads associated with the same email address.
Amit34, why is it that every time you respond you push zaranga.com as the solution? Please stop using our community to advertise your own commercial venture. Or use the Vendor portion of the community instead of our forum.
In partnership with:
worldwide leader in online vacation rentals
Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the HomeAway.com Terms and Conditions & Privacy Policy.
© Copyright 2006-Present HomeAway.com, Inc. All rights reserved.
