Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
3271 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: Aug 17, 2012 3:05 AM by mauioceanview RSS
New Member 4 posts since
Jul 16, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 16, 2012 6:57 PM

our first time renting and they are asking for cash

this is my first time using a VRBO and i have read to not take cash so what do i do when the person i'm talking with wants an initial depost wired to them for one night and then a full payment wired to them a week before we get there? or cash on the day we get there?

also, the reviews for http://www.vrbo.com/318414 are perfect 5/5 so with all of this, it makes me feel like something is fishy. any advise on how to approach this would be greatly appreciated.

• lrbaldwin Active Contributor 757 posts since
    Feb 16, 2011
    Jul 18, 2012 8:37 AM (in response to rgraner)
    Re: our first time renting and they are asking for cash

Call them on the phone.  Their number is on the listing.  Never wire money unless you're absolutely certain you're dealing with the actual owner.

Linda

• sophie Senior Contributor 970 posts since
      Mar 4, 2011
      Jul 19, 2012 12:17 PM (in response to lrbaldwin)

It is very common in European countries to request a wire transfer or cash on arrival.  Nothing stood out on the property to page to me but if you are not comfortable with the situation, then don't do it. You should call them to get a  better feel. Also, ask if they take paypal. Mnay Euro owners do.

• sophie Senior Contributor 970 posts since
        Mar 4, 2011
        Jul 18, 2012 9:04 AM (in response to sophie)