Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
7973 Views 17 Replies Latest reply: Mar 25, 2013 4:48 PM by bubala RSS
New Member 1 posts since
Oct 14, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 14, 2011 10:17 AM

Should I be worried if a property has no reviews posted?

I am new to VRBO and wondered if I should be concerned if a property has no reviews at all posted?

• petersolberg Contributor 35 posts since
    Sep 13, 2011

I would; but of course you could be the first one to give it 5 stars.
    Does the calendar look like it has been updated? If it's all blank and there are no reviews I would never rent from that owner - I would say property managers keep their calendars all blank rather (sorry to generalize).
    Good luck finding something good and fun!

• anja Senior Contributor 1,555 posts since
    Aug 9, 2011

There are Owners that have their own websites...and been sucessful "hosts for years. Many Owners have physical guest books, and/or they have online guestbooks for their guests to either write their feedback, and/or upload their feedback to the Owner's websites. So, don't think just because you do  not see a review  on HA/VRBO that the property is bad.  Contact the Owner if the ad is enticing you. Ask them if they have another way of collecting and sharing their guests' feedback. It's always good to contact the Owner, in any case....reviews or not. Ask all the questions you want to know about....ask, ask, ask.  And do not book the place if you are not comfortable with the Owners' responses.

• thaxterlane Active Contributor 779 posts since
    Jul 27, 2011

I will echo Anja.