Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
3115 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Jun 9, 2012 11:50 AM by mauioceanview RSS
New Member 1 posts since
Jun 4, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 4, 2012 7:58 AM

Received a "best rate" request to rent my FL home March-April 2013?

Received a "best rate" request to rent my FL home March-April 2013?  Do I offer 10-20% off?  I am new to renting, so calender is empty, but nice home with ocean view.  Do I offer ask for more security?  Also, the couple has two cats and a dog.  I don't mind dogs, but unsure of cats, which mean litter box and more hair all over?  Unsure what I should do.  Thanks for any advice.

• kastnersbeachhouse Contributor 49 posts since
    Mar 13, 2012

Personally,  the only time I offer a discount is last minute when my condo isn't rented.  I feel my vacation home is offered at a fair price and to offer a discount any other time is perhaps sending a message that  my home is overpriced to start with.  I would hold strong to my pricing.   If you house is priced fairly, the rentals will come! Sheila

• anja Senior Contributor 1,560 posts since
    Aug 9, 2011

Personally, I would not offer a "best rate" discount....especially if they want to bring all those pets to your home.  If you go ahead with the "deal"...make certain that you take a good high security {ref., possible extensive cleaning / damage to your home / property}.   Generally, with or without pets, I do not offer "best rate" upon request.

And... your "discount" seeker is asking for  March-April 2013 !    What's the rush....?...being patient will bring you a better deal with a better inquirer for your nice home with the ocean view!