Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
3507 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Nov 26, 2012 5:05 AM by ckelly10 RSS
New Member 2 posts since
Oct 3, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

May 25, 2012 4:10 PM

Is this a scam!!!!

Hye I am at the moment dealing with a couple supposedly living in Germany. They wish to stay a week. They can pay by PayPal. He has just rang does not have a German accent, even though he said he was born there. I cannot trace his phone number that he called on, or see what country the cell phone is from. The land line number he gave me, I cannot get through on. It seems weird. What problems can I get into by sending him an invoice for PayPal, and giving him the permission to pay me. I'm relatively new at this and have only dealt with people in the same country as my listing. Hope you can help.I have agreed to send him a rental agreement.  Thanks

• Active Contributor 295 posts since
    Jun 9, 2011
    May 25, 2012 10:36 PM (in response to safehaven)
    Re: Is this a scam!!!!

PayPal uses the latest anti-fraud technology to safeguard seller from fraudster payors. If prospective renter is funding payment by the use of credit card through PayPal, PayPal performs an address confirmation of the buyer to make sure that the buyer owns the credit card. You will see in the Transaction Details in PayPal when you login, the address of the Payor, and you will have an opportunity to compare  this with the address the renter gave you. Hence I would have to say it is safe. Also, if the reservation is some distant away, the safer it is for you. You can also play it safe by not sending any money (ie. overpayment) other than by way of crediting back (ie. refund of security deposit) through PayPal using the same transaction.

• anja Senior Contributor 1,555 posts since
    Aug 9, 2011