Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
744 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: May 16, 2012 5:47 AM by harborfields RSS
New Member 16 posts since
May 15, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

May 15, 2012 8:01 PM

How to choose the right geographical location for your listing?

I am just getting started setting up my listing. I am really trying to do all my research and make educated decisions. When choosing your "geographical location" for your listing there can be several sub categories(neighborhoods, etc.) that would suit a particular rental. Anyone have any insight into how specific or vague to be? It seems to me (remember I am NEW) that the more general and less specific description may generate more lookers.I would hate to end up in the wrong listing area because I made the wrong choice =]. I hope my question makes sense to all of you. THANKS!

• harborfields Contributor 207 posts since
    Jul 12, 2011

I think you want to be as specific as you can be, while still showing up in the results for the larger search area.

Most listing systems include the listings from sub-areas in the results for the larger area. For example (from VRBO):

World > USA > Maine > Mid-Coast & Islands > Boothbay Harbor Area > Boothbay Harbor

So if you had a property in the town of Boothbay Harbor, it would show up in the listings for Maine, for the Mid-Coast, and for the Boothbay Harbor region, not just in the listings for Boothbay Harbor itself.

On the other hand, some listing systems don't realize that some sub-areas (e.g. West Boothbay Harbor) are actually part of the larger town (Boothbay Harbor).