Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
7817 Views 28 Replies Latest reply: Jul 19, 2012 12:57 PM by iopbeachhouse RSS
super New Member 18 posts since
Sep 30, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 18, 2012 5:11 PM

Early booking, negotiating deposit and asking for proof of ownership

I am new to renting. I have received an inquiry for next March 2013. I ask for 50% of total renting to ensure reservation (we are in Florida and there so many properties on the market) and my potential renter is asking to pay 1/3 now, 1/3 in November and the rest in January 2013. Also, he asks me to send him a proof of ownership (government document or city  taxes bill). How to respond to this renter?

What is your feeling about this?

Thank you.

• susaninrehoboth Active Contributor 878 posts since
    Sep 3, 2011

Proof of ownership should be provided if requested by the prospective tenant.  The county in DE where my VR is located has a website that lists owners of all properties. Check to see if you can find a record of ownership on-line and if so, email the website address to him/her.

As to deposit: Since you mention you have a lot of competition, if the tenant is willing to give 1/3 of the cost now, I'd go for it.  A bird in the hand, etc. Now means within 1 week. The next 1/3  due January 2nd and the remainder on your normal final payment due date.

Write your contract/lease so that the tenant forfeits his/her deposit if the 2nd deposit is not received by the due date.

I don't know what $ amount is involved. The 1/3 needs to be enough that the tenant would not want to forfiet the deposit.

Before you agree to anything, check linkedin and Facebook for information on the tenant. After talking with the tenant, sometimes you have to trust your gut as to what to do.

• wiffle Contributor 217 posts since