Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
3026 Views 4 Replies Latest reply: Apr 29, 2012 5:44 PM by anja RSS
New Member 1 posts since
Jun 27, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 27, 2011 5:19 PM

Telemarketers from India

Hi,

I'm new to Home Away and have already had two calls from "fake" property web sites in India in just one day. One is Travelehome and the other one is called "Always on Vacation". I checked the Google PageRank and Alexa Traffic for both sites and it is very low, therefore in addition to being pests, their claims of "millions of visits" are also false.

Alexa said the following about Always on Vacation:

"Alwaysonvacation.com's three-month global Alexa traffic rank is 44,613. The site has a relatively good traffic rank in the city of Ghaziabad (#281), and while the site is ranked #16,658 in India"

So I told them that as I am not expecting a rush for bookings from Ghaziabad anytime soon, I wasn't interested at this time...

I was wondering whether to expect this type of calls often or not and what sort of action I can take to prevent these scammers from calling (aside from withdrawing my ad from Home Away altogether).

Best regards,

lhunter

• New Member 3 posts since
    Jun 24, 2011
    Jun 30, 2011 7:32 PM (in response to lhunter)
    Telemarketers from India