Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
9385 Views 42 Replies Latest reply: Jan 18, 2014 3:22 PM by swlinphx RSS
thale HomeAway Employee 136 posts since
Oct 27, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 27, 2012 6:45 PM

Have you ever received an inquiry that you thought might be bogus?

Has anyone received an inquiry which appears bogus to you? What were the signs that made you think it was an attempt to get your email address for a phishing attack?

• christineb Contributor 35 posts since
    Mar 1, 2011

I have never had a situation where I felt that people were trying to get my email address.

I have been renting our place since 2010 and honestly I have never had an issue with email inquiries.

But I do get people calling the phone number I have listed (which rings into voicemail because I live several time zones from my property) who are unbelievably vague about date details etc when they are making initial contact. These messages typically have background noise similar to telemarketing calls which set off my spidey senses immediately. I never call these people back but I will get this type of call as often as once a week.

Part of my filtering process is that I just don't return calls to people who aren't specific about what dates they want etc. This is out of necessity because of the probability of "phone tag" is high as is the cost of a phone call (Skype is technically not allowed where I live).

• anja Senior Contributor 1,560 posts since
      Aug 9, 2011

I have had email inquiries that were too vague and left me feeling suspicious.  Were they just wanting me to answer...to get my email validated?  One email was:  "interested. send details with price."  They are always lower case...use "throw away" emails that are not traceable to any links online.