Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
7018 Views 32 Replies Latest reply: May 7, 2012 9:24 PM by tywebb RSS
New Member 3 posts since
Apr 24, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 24, 2012 3:09 PM

Sent rental inquiries to 2 different owners, no answers...

I was searching for a monthlong rental in Hawaii, and sent inquiries to two different condo owners listed on the HomeAway website.  I'm new to Home Away, but never received an answer from either of the two owners.  Just followup email from Home Away.  I've now looked elsewhere and booked a rental.

I know the importance of being responsive, since I also have a second home (not listed on HomeAway).  This lack of communication doesn't help all the rest of the Home Away registered owners.  I doubt I'll be back to the Home Away website to  try again.

• Contributor 233 posts since
    Dec 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on the owners who did not respond to you.  I know that most of us do respond much sooner, within the hour if possible.  Please let me know when you want to spend a month in the Pacific Northwest!

• thaxterlane Active Contributor 779 posts since
    Jul 27, 2011

I can sympathize with your frustration about non-responsive owners.

I am an owner and a frequent traveler.  I respond to inquiries about my home within an hour. 

I recently had an experience similar to yours trying to rent a home in the vicinity of Yosemite National Park.  I submitted 4-6 inquiries and didn't get a response from any of the properties until approximately 48 hours had passed.  Two inquiries went unanswered.

I rented a property that was listed by a property management company on a different site.  The company responded to me within minutes of submitting my request for a reservation.