Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
3659 Views 13 Replies Latest reply: May 4, 2012 6:33 PM by mamarston RSS
New Member 9 posts since
Apr 14, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 14, 2012 3:17 PM

new to vacation rental propety management

I am new to this industry and I don't know anyone to ask regarding what I am doing right or wrong.  I have no way to judge how well I am doing except to say that out of 81 inquiries I have 21 reservations that seem solid.  This is about  a 25% booking rate (1 out of every 4 book).  It seems low to me, but my calendar looks good through mid August. Is this normal??   Is this a good average and can I do something to improve?.  I feel like so many people never respond after I give them the quote.  I return a call if they leave a number and rarely speak to anyone, I leave a nice message and my prices are fair.  I guess this is part of it.  Can anyone tell me if there is a better system ? .  I have had several people want quotes for the Holiday weeks and the Fall, but they never get back to me.  I feel it may be too early to offer discounts now for the fall, but maybe I should? 

• twobitrentals Community All-Star 1,364 posts since
    Aug 5, 2011
    Apr 14, 2012 3:40 PM (in response to suiteelevations)
    Re: new to vacation rental propety management

I think you are probably doing well. You have to remember that some people send the same request to several different properties and then choose the one that fits them the best, whether larger home, more bedrooms, etc. OR, just that the calendar suits their vacation plans better in terms of actually booking. Don't get discouraged, if you are priced right you will continue to get bookings.

Are you looking for a vacation get-away 

Check out this wonderful home in Springfield/Branson