Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
1906 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Apr 19, 2012 10:41 AM by native7 RSS
anne.gill New Member 1 posts since
Jul 16, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 16, 2011 1:46 PM

Advertising vacaytion rentals

I'm an attorney representing a property manager, who manages one property in a tourist town.  The town, under its zoing odinance, prohibits advertising nightly rental unless they are licensed.  My client was cited for violating this ordinance when the property owner allowed the license to lapse.  I'm taking it to the state supreme court as a violation of the First Amendment and state law, in additin to numerous proecural due process violations against my client.

Does anyone have statistics on short term rentals/vacations rentals, and whether other places try to ban advertising?  It's a different issue from regulating the actual use of the property, which I think is subject to reasonable regulation.

• native7 Contributor 47 posts since
    Mar 16, 2012
    Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 19, 2012 10:41 AM (in response to anne.gill)
    Re: Advertising vacaytion rentals

Hi Anne,

Glad to see another standing up for our rights!