Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
2577 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Apr 12, 2012 9:19 AM by sunnymum RSS
New Member 5 posts since
Apr 9, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 9, 2012 11:10 PM

Is it normal to have paid in full and availability calendar not showing the time we are staying three months after full payment was made?

I am very concerned as this is my first experience with VRBO and I'm thinking the owner may have ripped me off. I paid in full for the apartment and received the address and keys in the mail (which I thought was quite unusual, but as I said this is my first time doing this. My BIG worry is that when I view the availability calendar it shows only a few days of my 10 day stay have been blocked from the calendar. When I saw this I thought it may have been a mistake. However I have emailed the owner stating my concerns and asking him for a reply. The first email went unanswered so I emailed him using the enquiry form attached to the property, but instead of enquiring about the availability I asked him again to set my mind at ease. I did receive a reply to the 2nd email but it made me worry even more as it was if he hadn't even read my question! He simply wrote that the apartment was available and stated the cost! So, in other words although I have booked and paid in full he is telling people who enquire that it is STILL AVAILABLE! I am sick with worry about this as we are travelling from the other side of the world to this apartment and it is not looking good. Also the person I dealt with never used his surname in the emails and the rental agreement  but simply had the dates and cost I paid but no address of the property. I didn't even notice that this was missing until after I had paid. Any suggestions as to what I can do would be most appreciated! P.S I did read rev