Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
12760 Views 36 Replies Latest reply: Sep 1, 2012 2:10 PM by sage RSS
New Member 7 posts since
Mar 24, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 25, 2012 12:54 PM

How much deposit do you take

I'm new to vacation renting and was wondering what is the procedure for payment of the booking.  Do you take half upfront and the balance within 30 days of arrival or is it paid in full the day of booking and becomes nonrefundable withing 30-60-90 days of arrival?  Also do you collect the cleaning deposit, security deposit and taxes at the same time?

• carol Senior Contributor 2,158 posts since
    Dec 10, 2010
    Mar 25, 2012 1:29 PM (in response to lindawaite@live.com)
    Re: How much deposit do you take

As you will see from the answers, there are many models out there and you will need to figure out what works for you.  I take only checks, so I want payment in full at least 30 days ahead of the rental so the checks have a chance to clear.  Owners who accept Paypal or credit cards can wait a bit longer if they want.