Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
2717 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Mar 30, 2012 8:00 PM by matt.ream RSS
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 28, 2012 9:47 PM

New to Community - Spammed already

I have been using VRBO and Homeaway for 5 years. We've received our share of spam/bogus inquiries.  I can spot them and ignore them. But I just recently signed up for (or resigned up for) the community. In less than a week I get a "private message" through the community from some have wit who thinks I want to be their special friend. 

They will let anyone in here, and if I get more of these, I'll quit this community.  I don't need this crap in here.

Anyone else have these private messages appear?

• anja Senior Contributor 1,556 posts since
    Aug 9, 2011
    Mar 29, 2012 2:28 AM (in response to tsw630)
    Re: New to Community - Spammed already

Hi tsw630,  To answer your question, yes.  I have received private messages.  Please clarify something because I am sorry that you've been 'upset'.   It's difficult to grasp exactly what went wrong that has upset you. You characterize someone as "half wit" which I understand the meaning of. But, how do you know that this individual is less than intelligent - or a fool?  Unless you are telling us that you've received a message from someone in the Owner Community that contained a ridiculous overture to you, or was rude, lude or deviant in any way, is it possible that you may have misunderstood the person's intention? Pardon me if I am way off -- it's just not clear to me what went wrong....but you are clearly offended.