Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
2839 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Aug 24, 2012 6:08 AM by valeriaibiza RSS
tansy Active Contributor 389 posts since
Feb 15, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 14, 2012 12:21 AM

Check you are NOT on this Russian site...

I was notified via another forum for owners...someone in Greece had been phoned that her properties were listed & the site works along the lines of - everything about your property is on the site to include your correct phone numbers ...but if you try to email an owner the email doesn't arrive to the owner but money changes hands...in other words you could end up with someone on your doorstep with bags packed expecting to have your place for a week or however long they have booked & paid for!

 

I appear to have been taken off the site after phoning a London number last night - however I have also contacted the fraud people who are working with London Police.

http://www.actionfraud.police.uk/report-a-fraud/how-to-report-a-fraud - they do need others to report it...the 0208 that was on the website is now answer phone. The ref no NFRC120300323955 to link all reports up ....so if anyone does turn up with their bags packed expecting to be in the house you are covered with the report, that you are not part of the scam.

 

the name of the site is www.yourholidayhomes.com - they seem to have many houses on all over the world.

 

I don't remember putting our property on...even if I did it is very odd that I can raise an enquiry to myself...I'm not prepared to take the risk.

 


  • swlinphx Senior Contributor 1,147 posts since
    Aug 30, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 14, 2012 2:29 PM (in response to tansy)
    Re: Check you are NOT on this Russian site...

    I think you posted the wrong URL as "www.yourholidayhomes.com" is not a valid site.

    • anja Community Ambassador 1,267 posts since
      Aug 9, 2011
      Currently Being Moderated
      Mar 14, 2012 2:35 PM (in response to swlinphx)
      Re: Check you are NOT on this Russian site...

      Perhaps it did exist recently....but I think it's been deactivated. There was some "chatter" about a Russian website on another vacation rental forum online.

        • anja Community Ambassador 1,267 posts since
          Aug 9, 2011
          Currently Being Moderated
          Mar 14, 2012 5:51 PM (in response to tansy)
          Re: Check you are NOT on this Russian site...

          I don't doubt it.  It's very cool that you called the Met.Police!

Not a member?

JOIN THE COMMUNITY

Register Now

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Bookmarked By (0)