Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
17735 Views 35 Replies Latest reply: Apr 9, 2013 12:22 PM by lincon9 RSS
tom.roland Contributor 39 posts since
Jan 21, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 30, 2011 12:23 PM

Credit Card Processing?

I've currently been working with Merchantware that charges 2-4 % on each transaction depending on the type of card used. There is also a monthly statement fee of $ 8-10 per month. I have no experience with Paypal, but have heard that they will hold deposits on reserve. Can you help with what's worked best for you in collecting payments?  thanks...Tom

• tyann Contributor 222 posts since
    Dec 28, 2010
    Jan 31, 2011 8:04 PM (in response to tom.roland)
    Credit Card Processing?

I started with PayPal, but have moved to Intuit's virtual terminal. PayPal charges $30 per month and then 2.9% + 30 cents for each transaction. If you collect over $3000 per month, the percentage rate goes down a bit.

Intuit's basic virtual terminal charges $12 per month and then 2.something %...I can't remember now. I do know that my per transaction fees have been reduced by nearly half by going through Intuit. If you upgrade to a higher account, you can even sync with your Quickbooks.

Tyann Marcink

www.vacationhomeinbranson.com

Dec 28, 2010
        Feb 1, 2011 6:20 PM (in response to tom.roland)
        Credit Card Processing?

I don't know of any fees to terminate Intuit's service. You can check out their terms at their website. I don't offer AMEX, and have had no problems when guests ask to use it. THey always have a back up card for when AMEX is not accepted. Discover is very popular, though, so I would offer that one.

• Currently Being Moderated
      Feb 15, 2011 11:43 PM (in response to tyann)
      Re: Credit Card Processing?