Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
2583 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Dec 10, 2012 12:53 AM by seattlevacation RSS
New Member 5 posts since
Jan 25, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 25, 2012 9:48 AM

SF Pricing Methods

Hi There!

I'm totally new at this so bear with me for a moment --- I've got a small place in Russian Hill that I'm looking to set up as a VR.  I've gone off and read all the threads in this forum as well as many others but I have a pretty elementary question -

How does everyone here set pricing?

One could go off a scan all the other VRBO lisitings in one's neighborhood but often times there just aren't that many VR data points in a specific neighborhood to compare!  Further, its pretty obvious that in many SF neighborhoods, one block makes all the difference in the world!  (whether you're at, say, the top of nob hill or the tendernob.  :-)  )

There are many more datapoints w.r.t. regular long term rentals on craigslist, etc....

Do people try to set some formula based off of regular long term rental rates?

Any does anyone care to share how they arrive at pricing for America's Cup?

Thanks!

RussianHill

• sfvacationhut Community All-Star 643 posts since
    Dec 31, 2010
    Feb 3, 2012 4:08 PM (in response to russianhill)
    Re: SF Pricing Methods

Howdy RH!

The subject of pricing is very important.

I know of a cute little studio apartment where she only charges $1550 per month ... furnished ... on a very adorable block of Noe Valley ... and guess what, as of Feb. 3, 2012, she is booked solid through August 31, 2012.

Low rates and a cute place = BOOKED SOLID.

Nothing wrong with that, if she can pay the bills with that income, I say ..."Go girl!!!"