Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
4918 Views 14 Replies Latest reply: Apr 14, 2014 6:00 AM by joan.l RSS
New Member 4 posts since
Jan 19, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 19, 2012 6:38 PM

Customers who want to negotiate?

I am new to VRBO. I have a customer who wants to rent our home for 2 days (our min is 3) we agreed to 2 day min. She received the rental agreement but has responded by saying she only wants to put 50% of the rent down now and give the security deposit 2 weeks before her arrival date. I don't feel comfortable with this. I believe one of the purposes of a security deposit is to secure that the place is being held for you? I don't want to wait that long to collect it and then she changes her mind. Our security deposit is 500.00 her rent would be $250.00 for the first night. That is how much she wants to give us now. No mention of the cleaning fee and taxes that we included in the rental agreement. Red flags are going up for me on this one. Any suggestions.

Mel

• New Member 5 posts since
    Jan 19, 2012
    Jan 19, 2012 6:49 PM (in response to melck)
    Re: Customers who want to negotiate?

Hi Mel,

Your terms are your terms and you should not have to defend them.  That said, I don't see any flags in the reply you got.  We request 50% down to hold the space (that would be your $250) and the balance 1 month prior to arrival, along with our $500 security deposit.  I think most tenants (and LL's) view the security deposit as a reserve in case of damage; not a commitment fee.  Bottom line, if you are not comfortable with the rental, withdraw the offer.

Enjoy your new life as a LL!

• sophie Senior Contributor 955 posts since
    Mar 4, 2011
    Jan 20, 2012 10:01 AM (in response to melck)