Skip navigation

Join the Vacation Rentals Conversation!

Get answers to all of your questions from fellow owners and travelers.

Join the CommunityX

CommunitySeek, Ask, and Share in the Vacation Rentals Community
5395 Views 13 Replies Latest reply: Jan 24, 2012 2:23 PM by flaskier RSS
New Member 4 posts since
Feb 3, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 3, 2011 7:25 PM

Advance Rents/Cancellations

I'm new to this and I need some advice.

I lease my condo seasonally, January through April. And my condo requires a minimum three month seasonal lease.

It seems difficult to lease the unit for the full term after mid to late October. Most inquiries after this date are for shorter periods.

I have prospective tenants who wish to lease in 2012 and they want to reserve now. Is it unreasonable to require them to pay non-refundable rents in order for the property to be secured? I'm concerned if I have the traditional cancellation policy (even 60-90 days) that it won't provide me enough time in the event of a cancellation to lease the property over the season.

I was thinking about a $1,000 lease deposit with half of the lease due within 180 days and the balance within 90. In the event of a cancellation the fee would be 50% of the amounts paid.

Too aggressive? 

Thanks.

• New Member 3 posts since
    Dec 28, 2010
    Feb 3, 2011 8:35 PM (in response to flaskier)
    Re: Advance Rents/Cancellations

it seems too agressive to me.

• amyg Active Contributor 323 posts since
    Dec 10, 2010
    Feb 5, 2011 10:52 PM (in response to flaskier)